Tuesday, 16 April 2013

Discovery: Cable35 - Rental Sunshine


Cable35 are an alternative rock band from Malta, now based in Sheffield. They play agressive alternative rock with a post-grunge twist, bordering on the post-hardcore movement that occured not so long ago. Their debut album was released in 2011 and this track is taken from their new EP, Fungus. I've highlighted "Rental Sunshine" as a standout track, because it's exactly that. 


"Rental Sunshine" sounds like the middle ground between Pixies and Nirvana. It's not the nicest sounding of tracks, however the production quality and the structure is enough to hook listeners. Many of their other material, specifically on this EP are extremely screamy. It's featured on "Rental Sunshine", but in a minimal manner when compared to the other tracks which are heavily influenced by post-hardcore. The band welcomes the comparisons to Nirvana's sound, and to those comparisons you must respect. It's a style not easily replicated and usually not done well, but Cable35 have managed to pull off the blend here on "Rental Sunshine". They're going on an extensive tour of the UK in the next few months including three dates in Leicestershire, here's a list of tour dates.
~Eddie



Thu 02 May
The Organ Grinder Loughborough, UK
Fri 03 May
Exchange Bar Leicester Leicester, UK
Sat 04 May
Mother Live London, UK
Fri 10 May
Chameleon Arts Cafe Nottingham, UK
Sat 11 May
Rotherham Trades Club Rotherham, UK
Thu 16 May
The Retro Bar Manchester, UK
Fri 17 May
Bar Santiago Leeds, UK
Sat 18 May
Vintage Rockbar Doncaster, UK
Sun 26 May
O2 Academy 2 Islington London, UK
Fri 31 May
Roper Hall Preston, UK


Mon 10 Jun
The Packhorse Leeds, UK
Tue 11 Jun
The Adelphi / New Adelphi Hull, UK
Thu 13 Jun
Pivo Pivo Glasgow, UK
Sat 15 Jun
Wee Red Bar, Edinburgh College of Art Edinburgh, UK
Fri 21 Jun
The Frog & Nightgown Worksop, UK
Sat 22 Jun
Lock 42 Leicester, UK

No comments:

Post a Comment